Tag Archives: The Sea Is My Brother by Jack Kerouac

What treasures are left in the Kerouac archive?

With the release of Kerouac’s first novel, The Sea Is My Brother and more recently, his Collected Poems, this is a question I have been rolling around in my head… Having read extensively about Kerouac, I am certain there are more treasures to be unearthed from the vault, I mean, the man could fill a notebook!

Kerouac Notebooks

Thankfully Kerouac biographer, Paul Maher Jr. has taken that thought to the next level and made a list of what he would love to see published. You can read Maher’s extensive list over at Empty Mirror.

And while we are speaking about Kerouac’s incredible literary output, we may never have seen it without Sterling Lord; after all, his determination to secure Jack a book deal for On the Road was crucial to it being published. Now, aged 92, Sterling tells all in his memoir, Lord of Publishing.

For fans of Kerouac and Merry Prankster, Ken Kesey, Lord of Publishing may shed some new light on how books such as On the Road and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest came to be contemporary classics. Here’s a review well worth the click!

Advertisements

1 Comment

Filed under poetry & publishing

To Kerouac, in Heaven

I was following a Kerouac thread yesterday (March 12 being the anniversary of his birthday an all) and wound my way over to Issa’s Untidy Hut where I discovered this absolute gem of a piece from Jack Micheline, titled ‘Letter to Kerouac in Heaven’.

 

micheline

 

It is taken from Micheline’s most recent volume, One of  a Kind, published by Ugly Duckling Presse.

Micheline is a truly Beat voice. His work is open, free and alive.

Read his Letter to Kerouac here: http://lilliputreview.blogspot.com/2009/02/letter-to-kerouac-in-heaven-jack.html

And for all of you up for a bit of Kerouac news, it seems there will be another new work published later this year titled The Sea is My Brother, written during his time as a Merchant Seaman. Apparantly it pre-dates Town and the City. Will be interesting to read such an early Kerouac voice.

4 Comments

Filed under poetry & publishing