Tag Archives: Sterling Lord tells all

What treasures are left in the Kerouac archive?

With the release of Kerouac’s first novel, The Sea Is My Brother and more recently, his Collected Poems, this is a question I have been rolling around in my head… Having read extensively about Kerouac, I am certain there are more treasures to be unearthed from the vault, I mean, the man could fill a notebook!

Kerouac Notebooks

Thankfully Kerouac biographer, Paul Maher Jr. has taken that thought to the next level and made a list of what he would love to see published. You can read Maher’s extensive list over at Empty Mirror.

And while we are speaking about Kerouac’s incredible literary output, we may never have seen it without Sterling Lord; after all, his determination to secure Jack a book deal for On the Road was crucial to it being published. Now, aged 92, Sterling tells all in his memoir, Lord of Publishing.

For fans of Kerouac and Merry Prankster, Ken Kesey, Lord of Publishing may shed some new light on how books such as On the Road and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest came to be contemporary classics. Here’s a review well worth the click!

Advertisements

1 Comment

Filed under poetry & publishing