My Aching Back: Mal Keeble Remix

It’s time to start posting the remixes of My Aching Back. Reading each one has deepened my love of the process and of the work it inspired. So let’s kick things off with the Mal Keeble remix, along with a few notes about his process…

*****

To keep the learning process going I have taken a running leap at the shisan remix. I decided to keep the first three links as to break them up would have been an injustice to the words and the poets.  The remix proved to be more difficult than I thought…  Each of the poems appears as they were originally submitted, except for Miguel’s which I have edited slightly.

My Aching Back
Written between:
Matt Hetherington, Lyndon Norton, Ashley Capes, Lee-Anne Davie, Chris Lynch, John Wainwright, Andrew Phillips, Miguel, Andy Smerdon, Cindy Keong

Side 1 – jo – preface

Link #1 (3 lines) – hokku (autumn)

my aching back
a leaf falls
from a branch

(Matt Hetherington)

Link #2 (2 lines) – wakiku (autumn)

as I put down the rake
the sky darkens

(Lyndon Norton)

Link #3 (3 lines) – daisan (non seasonal)

in the shed
removing a dropcloth
from old paintings

(Ashley Capes)

Side 2 – ha part one – development

Link #4 (2 lines) – winter  moon

stuck up a tree
winter moon

(Andy Smerdon)

Link #5 (3 lines) – non seasonal

behind the frame
no view
of the picture

(Lee-Anne Davie)

Link #6 (2 lines) – non seasonal

deep breathing
in a library of ladders

(John Wainwright)

Side 3 – ha part two – intensification

Link #7 (3 lines) – spring blossom

along the edge
of her grave
a row of daffodils

(Cindy Keong)

Link #8 (2 lines) – spring

startled by my head
beside the swamp lily

(Andrew Phillips)

Link #9 (3 lines) – non seasonal

recalling
the head on collision
first kiss

(Cindy Keong)

Side 4 – kyu – finale

Link #10 (2 lines)- non seasonal, love verse

exhaling your name
my steam-powered heart

(Miguel)

Link #11 (3 lines) – non seasonal, love verse

the river at high tide…
the distance between us
growing

(Lyndon Norton)

Link #12 (2 lines) ageku (summer)

it’s decided then:
last round’s on me

(Chris Lynch)

3 Comments

Filed under poetry

3 responses to “My Aching Back: Mal Keeble Remix

  1. Still enjoying this creative collaboration.

  2. yeah…enjoying it a lot..

  3. It keeps going…
    and I love it!

Leave a Reply

