And the SpeedPoets Open Mic Champion for 2012 is…

Before I rush in and announce it, let me first say that today was a reminder of why the SpeedPoets engine has been running for 12 years… the sense of community was overwhelming and each of the Call-Back-Poets kept the poetry bar set high.

This made the judges – Darkwing Dubs, mr oCean & Stuart Cooke – job incredibly difficult, but a decision was made and the announcement sent a roar of approval through the venue.

Sharing the runner-up prize of $100 was Carmen Leigh Keates & Chloe Callistemon and taking out the $200 cash prize with a set that popped with images of family life and the meandering Bulimba Creek, was Andrew Phillips. It’s been a massive year for Andrew. He released his debut collection (with Tiggy Johnson), That Zero Year, performed at QPF and has now taken out the title of SpeedPoets Open Mic Champion.

Stay tuned over the coming weeks for a feature on Andrew, but for now, here are three links for you to enjoy more of his work:

Link 1: Andrew’s feature poem on SpeedPoets from July
Link 2: Andrew’s feature poem on Another Lost Shark
Link 3: Andrew’s blog

Let me close by saying a big thank you to everyone who has come along to a SpeedPoets event this (or any other) year. Without you, there is no SpeedPoets. And to Sheish Money & Giselle. We wouldn’t sound half as good without you!


Filed under events & opportunities

6 responses to “And the SpeedPoets Open Mic Champion for 2012 is…

  1. Cool! Congrats, Andrew πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks Gabe, Ash and G, I’m still stunned actually.
    Loved the whole afternoon of poetry and hearing poets settle into a set of their own work AND I still have mr oCean’s ‘neighbourhood of goons’ ringing in my head.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s