June Pin-Up Poet Week #3: Julie Beveridge anticpiates the launch of home{sic)

The launch of Julie Beveridge’s third collection, home{sic} is just days away, so of course, the anticipation of it all dominated this week’s conversation.

*****

ALS: It’s getting very close to the launch of home{sic} at Riverbend Books. What is it that is most exciting you about the launch?

Is it wrong to say going out without having to wear a feeding top? Launches are always strange things to lead up to but wonderful experiences. It is a very weird thing to have people come along and buy your work. It is both very satisfying and a little embarrassing really. Perhaps you get better at that the more you develop as a writer?

I am looking forward to handing the book over mostly, to putting it out there for people to read… to love or hate, to talk to me about or not, for people to want to tear it apart, or get parts of it tattooed on their body they love it so much. It’s exciting to see how people respond.

The work no longer belongs to me, which is the wonderful thing about releasing stuff really.

Also, I’m looking forward to all the other awesome poets who are reading on the night. And my baby being at home, asleep in bed, being very good for his grandparents.

ALS: I have always found the release of a book to be a time of flux…  after the rigours of editing, new poems seem to flutter into existence, making the current work seem strangely distant. Where is your head at, as home{sic} makes its way into the world?

I totally agree… home{sic} is dead to my mind now, which is already consumed with the third (and final) in the series Home Bittersweet Home. The closer I got to the end of {sic} the more I opened up to Bittersweet – I got a taste for the lines, direction and creative outcome I wanted for the work.

Writing is cyclical, like most processes, so it’s natural to start at the beginning of a new creative process while you are at the publishing end of another.

After a fairly long break from a dedicated writing practice, it’s great to be in a place where my poetic eye is taking snapshots again, I feel as though I am writing some of my best work to date, and feel that can only develop if I ride this train with vigour!

*****

If you have not yet booked your ticket for the launch, there is still time. Here’s both a sneak peek of the cover and the launch details so that you can be there in person to be one of the first people to get their hands on a copy.

Julie Beveridge launches home{sic)

Venue: Riverbend Books, 193 Oxford Street, Bulimba.
Time: Doors open at 6pm for a 6:30pm start
Tickets: $10
Bookings essential: 07 3899 8555

For all of you who cannot make it, watch this space for a launch special in the coming weeks.

8 Comments

Filed under events & opportunities, Pin Ups

8 responses to “June Pin-Up Poet Week #3: Julie Beveridge anticpiates the launch of home{sic)

  1. Cannot wait for Julie’s launch 🙂

  2. Lovely cover, can’t wait to grab a copy, wish I could be there!

  3. misswoodhouse

    Watching this space, definitely!

Leave a Reply

