June Pin-Up Poet Week #1: Julie Beveridge

It’s hectic times here at Another Lost Shark HQ, with the launch of the next Another Lost Shark Publication looming. This time I am thrilled to be publishing Julie Beveridge’s third poetry collection, Home{sic}, which will make its way into the world at Riverbend Books on Tuesday June 19. And with Julie reading at SpeedPoets tomorrow, the timing was perfect to crown her, Another Lost Shark’s ‘Miss June 2012.’

This week Julie and I talk ‘home’ and the link between her previous collection, Home is Where the Heartache is and Home{sic}.

Enjoy,

*****

ALS: Your last book, Home is Where the Heartache is (2007) was an exploration of domestic menace. How does your new book Home{sic} relate to ‘Heartache’ and further your exploration of the concept of home?

Heartache was really an imagining of what could be happening behind any door of any home at any particular moment.. And yes, the menace that lives at home with us… which I have had a love affair with for as long as I can remember (thanks in part to Roddy Doyle’s The Woman Who Walked Into Doors, Joyce Carol Oates’ Rape, Elizabeth Bachinsky’s Home of Sudden Service and, well anything by Dianne Wakoski – who is the queen of domestic loss, love and longing).

Home{sic} is more of a personal mythology –  to borrow a phrase from Wakoski. I am in a constant state of yearning for home – whether that be here in Queensland, in Tasmania or in the places I’ve been to or imagined myself in. And not even really my actual self, but the me that my private audience imagines on my behalf. These poems are personal, and not about me at all in equal measures, so hopefully the collection creates a world in which a narrative exists – a poetic visioning of infinite potential of one small home.

I don’t think I’ll ever be done with home as a poetic concept… I’ve already started imagining the third piece in the trilogy – Home Bitter Sweet Home… watch this space?

Julie Beveridge is a Brisbane based poet, cultural producer and first time mum. Her work has appeared in print and online journals throughout Australia and New Zealand. Her third collection Home{sic} will be launched at Riverbend Books on June 19.

Here’s a poem from the collection.

*****

van diemens land

canyon precipice
jagged merciful

sharp extension
endures grooves

my fingers rest in
or slip out of

whether I climb or fall
nothing patient as these cliffs

rocks call to me at night
knowing I’ve always wanted to

fling myself off something
into something else

Tasmania
heart shaped and irregular

chains my memories
convict dogs that don’t get fed

hungry for the brink

8 Comments

Filed under Pin Ups

8 responses to “June Pin-Up Poet Week #1: Julie Beveridge

  1. Excited about the launch 🙂

  2. Wish I could be there, will be ordering a copy when I can!

  3. I’ve always wanted to

    fling myself off something
    into something else…love this…

  4. bd

    we’re in fer a treat at speepo today, & riverbend later. it’s been a long time between drinks, Jules – am a bit thirsty…

Leave a Reply

