QLD Poetry Festival Program Launch: Wednesday June 22 featuring Betsy Turcot

It’s almost time to unveil the program for QLD Poetry Festival 2011! So to make the program launch a night to remember, Queensland Poetry Festival, QLD Writers Centre & Riverbend Books are joining forces one last time this year to launch the 2011 program as part of the 2011 Riverbend Poetry Series with readings by a handful of local performers who will be stepping on to the QPF stage during the last weekend in August (26 – 28). 

Feature performers on the night include, dynamic duo, Betsy Turcot & Eleanor Jackson; Michelle Dicinoski, who will read from her debut collection, ‘Electricty for Beginners’; the rhythmically elegant, Janaka Malwatta and poetic riff-maker, Sheish MoneyGraham Nunn will also read a selection of work from Jacob Polley, the 2011 Arts QLD Poet-in-Residence as part of the program launch. It is going to be a big night, so make sure you are there to get a taste of what’s to come in August and help the 2011 Riverbend Poetry Series finish with a bang!
 
Date: Wednesday 22 June
Location: Riverbend Books, 193 Oxford St. Bulimba
Time: Doors open for the event at 6pm for a 6:30pm start
Tickets: $10 available through Riverbend Books and include sushi and complimentary wine. To purchase tickets, call Riverbend Books on (07) 3899 8555 or book online at http://www.riverbendbooks.com.au/Events/2508/Riverbend+Poetry+Series 

Here’s a sneak preview at two of our feature artists, Betsy Turcot & Eleanor Jackson, who will be performing as a duo on the night.

Betsy Turcot hails originally from the United States and since relocating to Brisbane, she has contributed her words, her heart and her passion to the city’s vibrant spoken word scene. Host of the popular, bi-monthly “Words or Whatever”, Betsy featured at the 2010 Queensland Poetry Festival as a member of The Broken Records Collective show “Just Like Me”. With her fresh delivery style, Betsy was a finalist in the Nimbin Performance Poetry Cup. With a BA in English literature, she brings a considered measure to the slam performance genre and is committed to teaching diversity through performance poetry.

Long-term lovers

I am speaking the language long-term lovers do.
I am renting the space between tangled limbs.
The unspoken space where heat lives.
I am crafting my love in a french press,
brought to your slumbering head.
Waking your senses,
defenseless as you rest.
How I cherish this weakness.

Have you seen mine?

Another failed attempt screams red between my thighs.
As all the bellies grow around me,
I watch another chance die.
I need your hands to release the pain I hide.

Is this what love is about?
No more infatuation,
no more heat of the moment,
but the space on your back where I lay my head.
Your heart pounding the beat I have read more times than I can count.
Your hands so soft in my calloused palm.
The script of our history already tea-stained long.

© Betsy Turcot

 

Eleanor Jackson has recently relocated to Brisbane from Melbourne, where she was a regular feature at Melbourne’s numerous poetry venues. Two-time winner of the Midsumma Poetry Out Loud slam, Eleanor has featured at the Overload Poetry and Melbourne Writers Festivals and was the producer of the Melbourne Poetry Map, a series of audio poetry walks supported by the City of Melbourne. Her audio poems have been published in Going Down Swinging and the Cordite Poetry Review, while recordings of her work have been featured on RRR’s “Aural Text”, 3CR’s “Spoken Word”, ABC Radio National’s “Night Air” and the online poetry channel, “IndieFeed: Performance Poetry”. Her poignant, conversational style of poetry is capable of creating powerful quiet.

(untitled)

She stole my every rock and roll, my hymns,
In that she took the ipod when she left,
So I untied my ropes – let sirens sing.

So empty now of jazz or evening swing
I let the house hum silent and bereft –
She stole my every rock and roll, my hymns.

Eventually the winter tuned to spring
I forgot the violation of the theft
So I untied my ropes – let sirens sing

And stalked that record store, “the king of spin”
A shopgirl so deluxe that I forget
She stole my every rock and roll, my hymns

Each week another momentary fling
Transactional, yet sending me to sweat,
So I untied my ropes – let sirens sing

Dancing like a boxer in the ring
I swung out wildly for the hot brunette
She stole my every rock and roll, my hymns
So I untied my ropes, let sirens sing.

© Eleanor Jackson

1 Comment

Filed under events & opportunities, poetry & publishing

One response to “QLD Poetry Festival Program Launch: Wednesday June 22 featuring Betsy Turcot

  1. Pingback: some nice action. you like action? I like action. « eleanor j jackson

Leave a Reply

