A Psychedelic Symphony – 30 years of The Church

I can’t even begin to say how excited I am about flying to Sydney tomorrow morning to see my all time favourite band, The Church play the iconic Opera House with a 60-piece orchestra as the final event in their 30th anniversay tour (started last year). They have dubbed it A Psychedelic Symphony, a title fitting of a band that have pushed well beyond the realm of their 1980’s commercial popularity, into a deep vein of swirling guitar, snaking bass and driving drum beats, to create a sound that has filled almost 30 albums and EP’s and thrilled audiences the world over.

I feel like The Church have always been with me; each of their albums create distinct memories and are tied to much of my personal history. That said, there is nothing nostalgic about the band, or their sound and I am certain that when the guys do tour on their 40th anniversary, it will be on the back of another album that pushes beyond what has come before it. That is what the army of Church fans have come to love about the band.

So before I start to gush, I want to leave you with what the band do best… play live. Here’s the band playing The Disillusionist from their epic 1994 album, Priest=Aura,  with Kilbey in raging rock/poet form.  This was recorded last year in El Ray as part of their Past Perfect Future Tour.  The Disillusionist is one of my favourite lyrics ever… and he does the Indian Rope Trick/ the one that makes you seasick (read the full lyric here).

And the great news is, tomorrow night’s show is being recorded for a DVD release. Will keep you all posted.

2 Comments

Filed under events & opportunities, who listens to the radio?

2 responses to “A Psychedelic Symphony – 30 years of The Church

  1. I am jealous, I blew my 2011 concert budget in 2010. My most recent CD purchase is ‘the best of the radio songs’ with all the digital remasters, sounds fantastic. I flew down to Melbourne the other day, waiting for pushback in Sydney Qantas were kind enough to play a cover (female vocals) of Under the Milky Way. That afternoon waiting for pushback in Melbourne Qantas played the original for me.

  2. Yeah, I am so jealous too 😉

Leave a Reply

