Happy Birthday Jack Kerouac

March 12 has just passed us by… the birth date of the late Jack Kerouac, who would have turned 89 had he still been physically with us. I say physically, as despite his early death in 1969, Kerouac remains with so many of us; a potent literary force and beacon of inspiration.

For me, Jack, more than any other writer, continues to influence my artistic practice. Discovering Desolation Angels at age 27 will remain a defining moment in my life; the haunting loneliness, the longing, the confusion… I was right beside Jack when he wrote:

                                                          on Starvation Ridge
                                                          little sticks
                                                          are trying to grow

His language was a spell and for more than a decade, it has both bound and freed me. In my writing, I have one mantra:

One day I will find the right words and they will be simple.

Words taken from Some of the Dharma, words that will guide me until the pen puts me down, or vice versa.

So Happy Birthday Jack!

To celebrate, this Lost Shark along with Julie Beveridge, Sheish Money & Jane Sheehy will be performing a handful of your poems at Confit Bistro (4/9 Doggett St, Fortitude Valley) on Wednesday March 30 as part of their monthly event The Back Room. The bar will open at 6pm and I hope you will join me…

 

4 Comments

Filed under events & opportunities, interviews/artist profiles

4 responses to “Happy Birthday Jack Kerouac

  1. alecpatric

    A big influence of me also, as were many of the beats. People still walk into my bookstore every few days to buy a book by old Jack. Lovely dedication here Graham.

  2. Happy Birthday Jack! See you at Confit Graham.

  3. Damn, wish I could be there. Crazy dumbsaint. What a phrase

  4. Didn’t know who Jack was till i got to the states. Ruined my life – in the best possible way. Wish I were round the corner…

Leave a Reply

