Merry Christmas, I miss Vic Chesnutt…

One year ago tomorrow, Vic joined his heroes in the great beyond. The first I heard of it was through the Silver Mt Zion website… it simply said:

best ever, gone.

I have continually gone back to Vic’s music throughout the year (and will continue to do so as long as I am breathing), the album, West of Rome, having the strongest pull. This album sounds more vital with every listen and seems to embody what I love best about Vic’s work… a delicate balance of strength and frailty.

Today, I miss Vic… so I have been watching his Tiny Desk Concert on NPR. It is a killer 5-song set featuring one of my all time favourite tracks, Panic Pure (West of Rome). If like me, you are also missing Vic, I hope this helps and if you are yet to discover his work, then I hope this shifts you out the door and down to your local independent record store to pick up one of his albums.

Journey safe into the holiday season…

5 Comments

Filed under who listens to the radio?

5 responses to “Merry Christmas, I miss Vic Chesnutt…

  1. Thanks for the link Graham and hope you and your family have a wonderful Christnas and new year πŸ™‚ and lets hope this bloody rain eases up (we are now officially cut-off – but no where to go but here so that is fine – and plenty of supplies).

  2. Graham,
    wish you and yours an happy Christmas and a year of waves and words..

  3. bd

    me too G.

    i often seek out that clip from “The Neighbour’s Dog (which i think you posted awhile ago) for a perfect dose of Vic live.

    then there’s the special memory of seeing Vic & Vicky at the Troub (now also sadly deceased…

  4. bd

    no no, not Vicky, the Troub…

    sorry to scare you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

