QLD Writer’s Week Feature #11 – Vuong Pham

Feature #11 in my QLD Writer’s Week series showcases the words of Vuong Pham.

What excites you about poetry?

I am enthusiastic about poetry because I strongly believe that it is the highest form of written communication through use of clever and intended purpose. For example, poetry steers away from societal norms of: “red hot sex” or mind-numbing sayings like: “I miss you so much it hurts”. So I do strongly believe that poetry expands the imagination not just for the individual, but also for society as a whole. Also, what excites me about poetry is the happiness, understanding and knowledge I obtain from reading and writing poetry.

What are the themes that interest you/ that you like to explore in your writing?

Love.

Nature.

I like experimenting with Shape Poems.

Charles Bukowski once said, ‘poetry is what happens when nothing else can’. How does a poem happen for you?

Poetry comes to me instinctively, whereby words, thoughts, ideas ‘hit’ me spontaneously. When this occurs, I then progress the poem through a continual process of editing.

 

Elegant Night
 
As I ponder the peppered and salty skies of royalty, I behold
Mirror-light curls and carves on the moon-dyed
Willow trees and velveteen seas.
Yet so soon in the horrific horizon ghostly clouds haunt closer.
Moreover, I feel that Cupid is marshalling his archers near,
To laden me with lead-headed quarrels.
For I shall nay glimpse such pearly elegance upon firmament.
 
Naught to feel love’s venom throughout veins flow,
Nor pain on one’s feet with a walk measured and slow,
Like the naivety of an octopus in the jelly jar and not the sea,
Or like the feeling of the ravine’s minuet of sadness
Amongst so much societal gaiety,
These instances of blazing lust detain:
Again – Again – Again.
 
And now, shipwrecked, on the generous shore
Of weeping willows and sighing seas, I witness
How a wandering hermit crab outgrows its cabin—
Moreover, I feel once again that my heart is a shell,
Not precious or beach-like, merely
A shelter for someone else to occupy.

 

  About Vuong:

Like Atticus Finch, I am unwaveringly dedicated to doing what is righteous and beyond my capacity with humility and genuine empathy. I am a first year high school Teacher of SOSE and English. Funnily enough, this is also my first year of writing poetry and I am immensely enjoying it. I have been reading and studying poetry ever since grade 9, and now my “poetic tongue” is finally coming to life! Here’s my poetry website: http://versesoftheinnerself.blogspot.com/

1 Comment

Filed under interviews/artist profiles, poetry & publishing

One response to “QLD Writer’s Week Feature #11 – Vuong Pham

  1. wonderful interview and poem. i love that you put the bukowski question to the writers in your interviews, great stuff!

Leave a Reply

