Poetry in The Weekend Australian

I have been reading with interest, the poetry selections in the Review Magazine of TheWeekend Australian. The poem that featured last weekend by South Australian based poet, Aidan Coleman was a real gem…

Night, from a longer sequence of poems titled  Stroke Poems had a huge impact on me.

It opens:

‘The sounds of evening peel away, leave only/this carnivorous hum./ It’s not my heart but my brain/that’s beating: I’m ok, I’m ok, I’m ok, I’m ok.’

The carnivorous hum of night and pulsing of the brain, drew me immediately into the otherworldly darkness of Coleman’s first moments after waking from a stroke. And the closing lines:

‘I know for someone/ death has felt like this.’

Really knocked me out… such power, such fragility. If you have never read the work of Aidan Coleman, you can get a hit of his work at: http://www.abc.net.au/rn/poetica/features/pod/poets/genxy.htm

And just today, I had some wonderful news… one of my poems has been accepted for publication in the coming months, so I will be sure to keep you all posted when it hits the street!

If you have any tight, newspaper sized poems, you can submit them to: poetry(at)the australian.com.au. The poetry editor is Jaya Savige.

1 Comment

Filed under poetry & publishing

One response to “Poetry in The Weekend Australian

  1. Pingback: Australian poem: 2008 series #8 — Indigenous poetry « Floating Life « Indigenous People’s Literature Weblog

Leave a Reply

