Teenage Dylan Poem Up for Auction

Christies Auction House has got its hands on a poem written in 1957 by a young Bobby Zimmerman for his summer camp newspaper.

The poem, about the death of a dog at the hands of drunken man who beat him beacuse he barked in joy, captures the fledgling voice of the man who would go on to become one of the most important voices in modern song and literature.

Here’s the poem in its entirety:

Little Buddy
     by Bobby Zimmerman

Broken hearted and so sad
Big blue eyes all covered with tears
Was a picture of sorrow to see

Kneeling close to the side
Of his pal and only pride
A little lad, these words he told me

He was such a lovely doggy
Story continues below
And to me he was such fun

But today as we played by the way
A drunken man got mad at him
Because he barked in joy

He beat him and he’s dying here today
Will you call the doctor please
And tell him if he comes right now

He’ll save my precious doggy here he lay
Then he left the fluffy head
But his little dog was dead

Just a shiver and he slowly passed away
He didn’t know his dog had died
So I told him as he cried

Come with me son we’ll get that doctor right away
But when I returned
He had his little pal upon his knee

And the teardrops, they were blinding
his big blue eyes
Your too late sir my doggy’s dead

And no one can save him now
But I’ll meet my precious buddy up in the sky
By a tiny narrow grave

Where the willows sadly wave
Are the words so clear you’re sure to find
Little Buddy Rest In Peace

God Will Watch You Thru The Years
Cause I Told You In My Dreams That You
Were Mine

 

The poem will go up for auction this month.

1 Comment

Filed under poetry & publishing

One response to “Teenage Dylan Poem Up for Auction

  1. What a find. You wouldn’t think there was Dylan bits and bobs left undiscovered by now. It makes me very happy that is yet another dog poem for the collection. I am off to see if I can find that Ferlinghetti one.

Leave a Reply

