Bob Dylan – 69 years young

I believe we all have artistic beacons… those shining lights that guide us through the years and soundtrack the highs and lows of our lives. For me, Dylan has always shone brightly. His words have circled me for my entire 39 years and I have to say, I cannot imagine life without Dylan. Sharing a birthday with him, well that’s just icing on the cake!

In 1985 I saw my first ever concert, it wasn’t Bob, but it was a man inspired by him – Bruce Springsteen and The E-Street Band. I still remember the sheer exhilaration of that show, the incredible feeling of having music flood over me in the live arena. The following year, I had my second concert experience… this time it was Bob, backed by the legendary Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers.

When I look back on this, I cannot help but thinking I was spoiled. It’s an almost unbeatable one, two punch (three including Petty!). I have since seen Bob five times and live in hope that I have not had my last live Dylan experience. Each time, Bob has shifted shape and delivered set lists that have left audiences guessing. I never would have imagined Cat’s in the Well from Under the Red Sky being the opening number when I saw him last in 2007 (here’s the full set list from the show). But that’s part of the magic…

So to celebrate my 39th and Bob’s 69th, I have dug up a link where you can download a concert from Bob’s ‘Together and Alone’ 1986 tour with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers. My memory of this show includes Bob adorned with big bauble earrings and leather vest, Tom smoking one of the biggest joints I have ever seen, Mike Campbell’s shredding solo in So You Want To Be A Rock’n’Roll Star and rousing versions of Rainy Day Women #12 & 35, When the Night Comes Falling, Ballad of a Thin Man and Positively 4th Street.

This concert recorded live in New York on the 4th of July, 1986 features many of those songs… and has stripped back the years and filled me with the same sense of wonder and awe. So here it is in its entirety:

Bob Dylan w/ Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers live in New York

And as a thank you to everyone who posted their favourite tracks on my recent Dylan post, here’s a treat for you… I have rummaged around to come up with clips of ten of the songs as a way of saying thank you.

Enjoy,

Ballad of a Thin Man
Tangled Up In Blue
Series of Dreams

Things Have Changed
Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
Subterranean Homesick Blues
 (w/ Neil Young)
Highway 61 Revisited
Romance in Durango

Brownsville Girl
Lonesome Day Blues

10 Comments

Filed under who listens to the radio?

10 responses to “Bob Dylan – 69 years young

  1. Haaaaaaappppyyyy birthday Graham and Bob. May is a very special month for births – haha. Some fans bet on his playlists for each of his many concerts each year. Thanks for the links – I’m going to enjoy this.

    • gnunn

      Some wonderful people born in May Gabe! Hope the links put a very large smile on your face! see you in June,

  2. ah………………..

    shoulda known you’d be onto it! put these lines as my facebook status this morning after a night of bad dreams, then realised later, it was the man’s birthday:

    “All the world I would defy
    Let me make it plain as day
    I look at you now, and I sigh
    How could it be any other way?”

    thank you for the links, and for the right-on, and actually quite moving (dare i say ‘ocean-hearted’) lowdown on the dude above. when reality has too many heads, one can always turn to the bob. he’s like a warm fire in winter or a cool drink in summer. the gift that keeps on giving. bigbig ONYA one more time…

    happy birthday to you (and the man)!

    • gnunn

      Thanks Matto! A meal when you’re hungry, a drink when you’re dry… that’s our Bob. Been a good day… Listened to Shot of Love on the way to work and Time Out Of Mind on the way home… Hope your day has been a good one,

  3. Cool. Was that the Tom Petty and Bob concert and Lang Park? If so I was there too! The acoustic set was mindblowing pure Bob, never forget it. Hahahhappy Birthdayayayaay!!!

    • gnunn

      Sure was Paul. It is still so vivid in my mind… Bob’s acoustic set was standout! Hope this show brought back some memories!

  4. Mark William Jackson

    Happy birthday Graham, I remember being 39 like it was today (only got a few more months till the onslaught of manopause that is supposed to come with the next decade!)

  5. This is a totally random and largely irrelevant question, but did anyone know Dylan has a black daughter?

Leave a Reply

