A Poetic Aside…

Well its bag packing time tonight, as I prepare for the weekend in Goolwa, but I am procrastinating…

Last night I saw The Scrapes at The Troubadour and my head is still buzzing with their ‘doom sexy’ guitar and violin soundscapes. Their debut album ‘Electric Mourning Blues’ provided the perfect musical backdrop for my travels around Brisbane’s northside today. Closer, ‘Antarctic Beach’ had me reaching for the repeat button… This album after just a few listens would definitely make my Songs To Write To List. The Scrapes will definitely put some poetry in your pencil!

And before I get packing, check out Robert Lee Brewer’s site Poetic Asides and consider dropping him a line. Robert has just been shortlisted for Poet Laureate of the Blogosphere and has put the call out, inviting poets to get in touch with him if they would like to be interviewed for Poetic Asides. All the details are here.

Posts may be a bit sparse over the next few days, but I will try and take some photos of my time in Goolwa. Will bring news of the Salt on the Tongue Poetry Festival on my return…

1 Comment

Filed under events & opportunities

One response to “A Poetic Aside…

  1. I didn’t know about the poet laureate of the blogosphere, otherwise I would have nominated some well deserving Aussies.

Leave a Reply

