Paint A Vulgar Picture: fiction inspired by The Smiths

I was having dinner on Saturday night and again the topic turned to how terrible music was in the 80’s… well, I am always the one to disagree. For me, the 80’s were a time of huge upheaval. There was the surface popularity of your Stock, Aitken and Waterman produced types, but bubbling below that were a group of bands who were doing things differently. The Church, Died Pretty, The Triffids & The Go-Betweens were just some of the bands on the Australian front consistently releasing albums that garnered critical acclaim. While in England, the Manchester scene was exploding… and at the forefront of that scene were The Smiths.

So I was rubbing my hands together when I discovered the recent release of Paint A Vulgar Picture: fiction inspired by The Smiths. The collection features 25 short stories named after various Smiths songs. There is Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before by Richmond Fontaine frontman Willy Vlautin, The Queen is Dead by Jeff Noon and Death of a Disco Dancer by Nick Stone to name but a few.

You can read a review of the collection at the short review and you can listen to an interview with editor, Peter Wild by visiting Willy Vlautin’s site and clicking on the link below ‘Paint A Vulgar Picture’.

For me, this collection has just climbed to the top of my wishlist. Oh yes, I would go out tonight, but I haven’t got a stitch to wear…

4 Comments

Filed under poetry & publishing

4 responses to “Paint A Vulgar Picture: fiction inspired by The Smiths

  1. What an excellent idea. I was recently watching an old clip and the lines “..why do you come here…why do you hang around…you snuck into my room..to read all the things I’d written about you…” struck a chord.

    I agree about the 80s. My husband was a punk in the 70s and missed out on the 80s alternative stuff and I keep trying to educate him. For me it was a rich decade…Rage on ABC – the midnight to 6am shift was great…lots of Cure, My Bloody Valentine, The Saints, The Church…marvellous rich wall of noise sounds to counteract the Rick Astleys and Milli Vanilli …it was iether that or the overbearing “cock rock” that dominated FM radio in Brisbane at the time.

    When I discovered 4ZZZ FM I can honestly say it changed my life…saved me from John Farnham and Barnsey…

    • gnunn

      Oh yeah, the 80’s had it going on… such a shame that people remember it for the Farnesy’s & Barnesy’s. I mean, how can a decade that produced:

      Heyday – The Church
      Lost – Died Pretty
      Before Hollywood – The Go-Betweens
      Rattlesnakes – Lloyd Cole & The Commotions
      Hard Promises – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
      Infidels – Bob Dylan
      Nebraska – Bruce Springsteen
      Doolittle – Pixies
      Daydream Nation – Sonic Youth
      The Queen Is Dead – The Smiths

      to name just a few… be remembered as a decade of terrible music?
      Pitchfork listed their top 100 albums of the 80’s and it is definitely worth a look: http://pitchfork.com/features/staff-lists/5882-top-100-albums-of-the-1980s/

  2. jules

    i was looking for a job and then i found a job and heavens knows i’m miserable now

Leave a Reply

