Riverbend Books Feature Poet #2 – Betsy Turcot

 

Betsy Turcot is originally from Vermont, USA.  She received a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature and Secondary Education at Saint Michael’s College in Vermont.  There, she was a member and captain of the collegiate field hockey team.  She went on to teach Secondary English and coach field hockey, snowboarding and lacrosse at Burlington High School in Vermont.  She enjoyed the active seasonal lifestyle that the state afforded including skiing and hiking.  After several years of teaching, she resigned and travelled to Australia.  Betsy settled in Brisbane where she has been a resident for eighteen months.  Betsy currently works as a Barista at Stove Café in West End.  She has been a featured poet at Words or Whatever at Black Star Café.  Betsy was a winner of the Brisbane Poetry Slam heat and went on to compete at the final of the 2009 Queensland Poetry Slam.

 

Dr Kinsey
          by Betsy Turcot

Please, Dr Kinsey, what does it mean to be me in nature’s eyes?
What will my lover surmise or my mother despise?
Decries that it’s unnatural. An aberration from the Stations of the Cross.
Well, if this is my sin, then give me my sin again because I am grounded.
Uncovering the truth of the human condition. Reconciliation my confession.
The elephant in the room.
Doomed by words unsaid that sting my soul.
My palms bleed as I forsake the sacrament of holy matrimony.
Makes my sister’s living in sin sound like a healthy confession.
No longer suffering depression. Don’t suffer fools.
Spools of yarn ignite my mind. Create rhymes with each stitch
but there’s a hitch –
If you want to be a writer, you must reveal the Truth.
Dig deeper to the roots.
And I don’t want to bear fruit. But wait, maybe I do. It’s my decision.
A ticking time bomb of a woman whose biological clock keeps ticking.
Rocks my world as I hurl my tips off the lip of a jump, and I see
each tiny snowflake.
Each to its own identity. Discover my destiny.
Unlike any other.
Faced the fear and took the plunge. Handed in the resignation letter.
Said I’d better be off.  I’ve got an ocean to cross to a land down under, but I am American.
Easy Virtue soothes my soul.
The American Dream at my core to search and succeed but with no greed.
So I grind the beans. Play a game of monogamy. Because for her,
There is no substitution. Nothing to constitute our substance.
We’ve played with the recipe to perfection.
Confectionary sugar caramelised on the outside and the centre
is soft. And warm.
I have learned to bake.
Don’t take it for granted. Been gifted with optimism. I believe
in what I can achieve.
And maybe there’s a part of me in Melvin Van Peebles.
The people’s revolutionary.
Black Panther’s idolatry. Never stationary. Fighting against mediocrity.
Not a trivial pursuit. It’s a mind resolute on what should be.
The sounds of eight thousand steady feet push me. I’m influenced by movies.
Harvey Milk said, “Come out.”
And how great would if be if for just one day
We could all be
That free.

 

You can read more of Betsy’s work at: http://whisperingradical.blogspot.com/

 

Riverbend Poetry Series – Tuesday 23 February

Queensland Poetry Festival, QLD Writers Centre & Riverbend Books are proud to present the first Poetry on the Deck event for 2010. Join us on the Riverbend deck as we showcase an exciting mix of local poets to kick start the year. Our first event will feature the seductive and award winning words of Bronwyn Lea (The Other Way Out, Giramond Press) reading along side debut authors, Jonathan Hadwen (Night Swim, Brisbane New Voices vol. 1), Pam Schindler and recent finalist in the QLD Poetry Slam, Betsy Turcot. And as the event falls on the 189th anniversary of John Keats’ death, there will also be a special reading of some of his best known works.

Date: Tuesday 23 February
Location: Riverbend Books, 193 Oxford St. Bulimba
Time: Doors open for the event at 6pm for a 6:30pm start
Tickets: $10 available through Riverbend Books and include sushi and complimentary wine. To purchase tickets, call Riverbend Books on (07) 3899 8555 or book online at http://www.riverbendbooks.com.au/Events/EventDetails.aspx?ID=2237
These events are always hugely popular, so book early to avoid disappointment!

2 Comments

Filed under events & opportunities

2 responses to “Riverbend Books Feature Poet #2 – Betsy Turcot

  1. Mark William Jackson

    Thanks Graham, fantastic poem, a letter of resignation we would all love to write but few have the courage. Now I’m off to Betsy’s blog for more.

    • gnunn

      Glad you have discovered Bety’s work! She is an electric performer… hope you had a blast looking around her blog as well!

Leave a Reply

