Air for the Birds pt II – poems by Glen Sheppard and Mike Russell

Statue
          by Glen Sheppard

I stand tall and proud, looking down over the ages
Don’t know the wonders I have seen
Many people worship me  / but the truth is I’m just a piece of work.

Groups adore me, that confuses me because I’m a piece of wood.
Somebody lovingly carves me into a head, but I am still just a piece of wood.
It’s great to be adored when your disguised / dressed up as a piece of wood.

It tells how we can get conned.

Dress me up / adore me
I’m still just a piece of wood.

 

 

Autism Dreaming
          by Mike Russell

It’s only a little space / Somewhere in between waking and sleeping

somewhere in the little moment  / between eating and drinking

I try a little space between walking and rocking.

A minute into space between sneaking and freaking / a molecular moment between trying and doing

but somewhere in there is a controlling dream that keeps us alive

… Autism dreaming…

5 Comments

Filed under poetry & publishing

5 responses to “Air for the Birds pt II – poems by Glen Sheppard and Mike Russell

  1. Glen – that is a very clever poem that works on different levels. I love the play on ‘piece of work’ which is one of my favourite expressions aimed at people I find manipulative or who con.
    Mike – small space, big effect – wow!
    Air for the Birds rock on!

    • Glen Sheppard

      Thank you Gabrielle,
      I do love writing poetry, it just flows out of me. You have a great day, Glen

    • glen

      Thank you for your comments Gabrielle, I do love writing poetry and am currently finishing my third book. Our next Brotherhood performance is on 30th April at Bris State Library, I’m looking forward to it. If you are able to attend please make yourself known to me. Best wishes, Glen

Leave a Reply

