Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr. Leonard Cohen

I was looking around over at Pitchfork this evening and discovered, much to my joy that for this week only, you can watch, in full, the 1965 film, Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr. Leonard Cohen. The film takes us into the world of Cohen the poet and novellist and provides some extraordinary footage of Cohen reading from his early work and discussing the art of poetry. He is elegant and captivating.

 

 

So without any further ramblings… Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr. Leonard Cohen. 

And if you can’t find the time to watch it this week, I also discovered you can watch the complete film here.

7 Comments

Filed under poetry & publishing

7 responses to “Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr. Leonard Cohen

  1. There is just an explosion of supercool stuff everywhere at the moment. I am just keeping up. Have bookmarked Laughing Lenny for the weekend. Thanks!

  2. This is indeed grand; thanks for the superb navigation!
    I especially dig his response to the questions about “concerns”. It would bother me to have someone insisting that, to be serious, poetry has to be some sort of social commentary; that’s fine, but it’s neither the definition nor duty of poetry, for mine. I also liked Zen’s recent comments about leaving The Issues for other poets. Having said that, I think our perspective inevitably comes through, whether it’s intended or not.
    But all that aside, the film is grand just for the words and the cool!

  3. (I also find it an interesting sign of its time (I presume) that the narrator often comments on how much money people earn.)

  4. Yes! I saw that too – interesting indeed!

Leave a Reply

