Sunday Morning News brought to you by Lawrence Ferlinghetti

Ferlinghetti is a leading voice of the Wide Open Poetry Movement, founder of City Lights Books, champion of poetry and voice of social change. Since the 50’s, Ferlinghetti has been bringing us the news, through his incendiary verse. So here’s the news, this Sunday morning… Ferlinghetti style.

 

ferlinghetti

 

I Am Waiting 

I am waiting for my case to come up
and I am waiting
for a rebirth of wonder
and I am waiting
for someone to really discover America
and wail
and I am waiting
for the discovery
of a new symbolic western frontier
and I am waiting
for the American Eagle
to really spread its wings
and straighten up and fly right
and I am waiting
for the Age of Anxiety
to drop dead
and I am waiting
for the war to be fought
which will make the world safe
for anarchy
and I am waiting
for the final withering away
of all governments
and I am perpetually awaiting
a rebirth of wonder

(read the whole poem here)

 

And while you are getting some news, why not take another hit straight from the man’s mouth. Here’s a link to a great reading Ferlinghetti gave as part of the Lunch Poems series at Berkeley University early last year.

Enjoy your Sundays…

4 Comments

Filed under poetry & publishing

4 responses to “Sunday Morning News brought to you by Lawrence Ferlinghetti

  1. Perfect Sunday reading, Graham. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

