Brisbane New Voices: Jonathan Hadwen

BNV

Brisbane New Voices is a publishing project that I have been working on throughout the year as part of my Cafe Poet Residency.  The project is now almost ready to launch with the publication of a limited edition chapbook featuring the poetry of Jonathan Hadwen and Fiona Privitera. Each poet will have have a micro-collection of their work (8 poems) published in the chapbook. I am not sure if (or when) I will do this project again… I may publish one chapbook each year, but this may also be the first and last of its kind. All I know is that it’s been alot of fun working with Jonathan and Fiona. So here’s a look at one of the poems from Jonathan Hadwen’s micro-collection Night Swim.

Night Swim

Meditations

i

there are black crystals in my bones
my yoga teacher can see them
he shatters them until they are clusters of sharp pieces in my thighs
he tells me
I am half way between Buddha and TV

ii

my consciousness is a diamond floating above me
anchored to every fingertip, every toe
it pulls at me
and i crumple like a reverse parachute
it is a long fall up to forever

11 Comments

Filed under poetry & publishing

11 responses to “Brisbane New Voices: Jonathan Hadwen

  1. beautiful poem…

    it seems australia is the place to be…

  2. Yes, Australia – but more importantly Queensland (and Brisbane) in Australia. Neat little poem – amazing image of the body being tugged by the fingers and toes until folding onto itself – ‘it’s a long fall up to forever’ brings it altogether.

  3. A great idea, Graham, and a great poem too from Jonathan, especially pt 1!

  4. Pingback: The evolution of the author/publisher relationship « Another Lost Shark

  5. Pingback: Brisbane New Voices: Fiona Privitera « Another Lost Shark

  6. Pingback: Night Swimming with Jonathan Hadwen: Riverbend Feature Poet #4 « Another Lost Shark

  7. Pingback: Brisbane New Voices « Mark William Jackson

  8. Pingback: Brisbane New Voices II: John Koenig | Another Lost Shark

Leave a Reply

