if:book Australia

It was announced last Thursday, August 27 that Brisbane would be the home of the Australian Institute for the Future of the Book or if:book Australia.

if:book Australia is an international initiative of QLD Writers Centre. It will be the third centre established worldwide (the others in London & New York), dedicated to the exploration of digital literature and will function as a think and do tank, supporting publishers and auhors to access the new ways of reading that are rapidly developing.

The article Reading the Future by Rosemary Sorensen in The Australian is well worth checking out.

Exciting times ahead for the book!

5 Comments

Filed under poetry & publishing

5 responses to “if:book Australia

  1. Gabrielle Bryden

    Yee ha! Brisbane is coming up in the world. I must say that I have been resistant to digital publications but am slowly changing my position. I read the news on the screen now – it’s easier on my eyes (funnily enough) and with new technologies changing all the time – God knows what they will come up with. Bring it on I say!

    • gnunn

      I too have been resistant to the idea of digital publishing… but I mean, that’s what I am doing right here… and it connects us with people we may never have come into contact with. I can’t wait to see how the centre evolves.

  2. Nobody mention Voyager.

  3. Amanda Joy

    Thanks for the links Graham. I have to say, I don’t believe printed form will disappear, it’s too intimate.. but there are some ebooks of poetry appearing that I absolutely love. David Wolach’s book alter(ed) available through ungovernable press is one that springs to mind. He is releasing it in entirety and different printed form later in the year. I think it is a really exciting medium for poetry.
    Nice one!

    A.Joy

    • gnunn

      Must check out David Wolach’s book. The road to the digitial world is opening up so rapidly… I can’t wait to see where it takes us.

Leave a Reply

