Ekka Days

Well, the 2009 Ekka has come to a close and I am still buzzing with a strange kind of delirious energy. The Ekka has that effect on people. I am not sure whether it is the flashing lights, that distinctive voice advertising dagwood dogs and jam donuts (it seems to be on a permanent loop and is able to be heard from almost any point in the grounds), the heady mix of perfume, sweat and dung, the swarms of soap bubbles pumped regularly into the air, or the mile wide smile on almost every face that passes by, but once you are inside the gates, the sticky fingers of excitement take hold and your inner child is bursting at the seams.

 

ekka haiku - strawberry sundae

 

Our performances (myself and poetic riff maker Sheish Money), on the International Food Hall Stage were a blast and it was a real thrill seeing faces light up in the audience. In the end, that is one of the things that keeps us going. Performing in front of an appreciative poetry audience is great, but turning just one person on in a crowd of people high on that Ekka buzz takes it all to another level. It was also very cool to be joined by the delightful Hinemoana Baker for our final gig. You can read how much she loved The Ekka from her blog post Ekka-stasy.

 

ekka haiku - showtime

 

As I walked out the gates for the last time, I could not help but feel nostalgic… 2010 will see many changes at The Ekka – the Showbag Pavillion will be gutted, the Douglas Wadley Dog Pavillion will be torn down and the iconic chairlift will no longer decorate the Valley sky. I just hope that this change is well managed and that the spirit of the Ekka remains the same. It is a Brisbane icon, and we can’t afford to lose any more of these.

So as I come down off my Ekka high, here’s a few poems that I wrote for a photographic exhibition that was on display in the Errol Barnes Dining Room. If you were not able to get there this year, I hope that these poems help conjure some of the magic.

 

 

ekka haiku - cattle shed

 

 

ekka haiku - shooting ducks

 

 

ekka haiku - secret pocket

 

All photographs taken by Andrea Higgins for Artisan.

 

10 Comments

Filed under poetry

10 responses to “Ekka Days

  1. They are fantastic. And what a great idea.

  2. the showbag hall gutted???! the chairlifts gone?? what’s going on???? I went home a couple of years ago and yes, the disappearance of Brisbane landmarks was saddening. I wrote a ranting piece about it intending to send it to the Courier Snail but they never would have printed it.

    I’ve gone all homesick now, I’m off to find my old Ekka photos…

    • gnunn

      It sure is sad that these icons will be lost. I know that I will be fighting for the Ekka to retain some as much of its old world charm as possible.

  3. Gabrielle Bryden

    Very sad – at least I have my childhood memories and the odd black and white photo. My mother didn’t mean to lose me at the Ekka – really she didn’t! I think it is terrific what you did at the show and love the photos with poems (esp. the last one – pocket, lint). All people love poetry, they just don’t realise it and need to be reminded, and you are the brave one to do it. Ha!

    • gnunn

      I hope the show retains its charm. I know I will be there fighting for it. And it is so true, that we all love poetry… somewhere along the line many of us lose contact with it, for whatever reason, so it was great to help a few people reconnect at the show.

  4. Wow: they turned out fabulously! I love how you capture the small moments that make up the experience of the Ekka specifically, but also the fair in general. The poems work so well with the photographs too. I can feel the buzz!

  5. These haiku are gorgeous snapshots, G. Takes me back to the Ekka’s glory days.

Leave a Reply

